Walker & Hall Waiheke Art Award 2016

21 October - 14 November 2016

The winner of the Premier Award: Liam Gerrard  - Raylene: Charcoal on Paper

Zinni Douglas Merit Award: Jana Wood - Cyano: acrylic on stretched canvas

Michael Evans Award for a figurative work sponsored by the Skin Institute Waiheke: Jonathan Cuming - Adieu: oil on canvas 

The Waiheke Art Award 2016 is proudly sponsored by Walker & Hall in association with Casita Miro Vineyard and the Waiheke Community Art Gallery. This is a National Award for two dimensional works in any medium and has a Prize of $5000 as the Premier award. This years selector and judge is Monique Jansen, Senior Lecturer Visual Arts, AUT University.

Warm congratulations to the award recipients and the finalists!


The finalists for this years award were:

Kathy Barber, Philippa Bentley, Cathy Carter, Jamie Chapman, Deborah Crowe, Jonathan Cuming, Amanda Densham, Anah Dunsheath, Liam Gerrard, Mark Graver, Belinda Griffiths, Stuart Jobling, Gavin Jones, Rozana Lee, Zoe Leeb-du Toit, Emma McLellan, Sue Pickenel-Crow, John Pusateri, Bill Riley, Stefan Roberts, Frances Rood, Mo Stewart, Sian Torrington, Ilya Volykhine, Creek Waddington, Michael Walker & Ellen Johansen, Shayn Wills, Jana Wood.

gala Award Ceremony

Friday 21 October 2016 doors opened 6pm - 9pm and included the Walker & Hall Award Ceremony. Tickets to the Award Ceremony were $45 pp. A feature of the event was the Draw for a Diamond, valued at $4670, (0.45ct) courtesy of Walker & Hall. Award finalists and partners complimentary. The Draw for a Diamond is in support of the gallery's Education Programme. The winner of the draw was Barbara Mitchell

Monday 15 August: Closing date for entries

Monday 12 September: Artists advised of selection results

Monday 17 October: Selected works received at the gallery. Gallery hours 10 - 4pm 7 days

Friday 21 October: Exhibition opens at 6pm. Award Ceremony commences at 7pm. Artists & partners complimentary, $45 pp

Monday 14 November: Exhibition closes at 12 noon. Unsold works available for collection.

Liam Gerrard Raylene Charcoal on Paper Premier Award 2016

 Winner of the Walker & Hall Waiheke Art Award 2016 Liam Gerrard with his work Raylene, charcoal on paper and Selector and judge Monique Jansen.

 Jana wood Cyano acrylic on stretched canvas Zinni Douglas merut award 2016

Jane Parlane Gallery Chair (L) and Jana Wood (R) with her work Cyano, acrylic on canvas - recipient of the Zinni Douglas Merit award

Jonathan Cuming Michael Evan award for a figurative work

Jonathan Cuming: Adieu, oil on canvas. recipient of the Michael Evans award for a figurative work.



Sponsored By