Walker and Hall Waiheke Art Award 2015

23 October - 16 November 2015


White Elephant by Frances Hansen  has won this year’s $5000 Walker & Hall Waiheke Art Award.

Judge Nuala Gregory, Associate Professor in Fine Arts and Deputy Dean of the National Institute of Creative Arts and Industries (NICAI) at The University of Auckland, announced the winner of the national Walker & Hall Waiheke Art Award at the Waiheke Community Art Gallery on Saturday, 24 October at an evening function in association with Kennedy Point Vineyard, The Skin Institute Waiheke and Marino Ridge Luxury Accommodation.

Deborah Crowe won the $1000 Zinni Douglas Merit Award for her work titled Fictional Realities: Drop  – Digital collage on Fine Art Paper.

Joon-Hee Park was awarded the $500 Michael Evans Award sponsored by The Skin Institute for her work Self Portrait (Medusa) acrylic on canvas board. A special 10 Year Anniversary Award of $250 was presented to Waiheke artist Martin Corke for “The Black Dog Stirs” four different versions of a resting dog presented in oil on board.

Now in its tenth year, the Walker & Hall, an annual national art award established to promote excellence in art attracted 103 entries this year. “This is a prestigious exhibition and all the works this year have an international look to them, it was certainly challenging getting them down to 32 for the exhibition” said Nuala Gregory.

DSC 0039 800x532

 L-R  Joseph Tattersfield from Walker & Hall, Frances Hansen, Nuala Gregory.

"We are delighted to be celebrating ten years of this national art award thanks to the generosity of Walker & Hall" Waiheke Community Art Gallery director Linda Chalmers. "We are also exhibiting a Decade of Walker and Hall winners, loaned back from the Walker and Hall Private Collection.  It’s wonderful to see all the works exhibited for the first time together – they are a very strong and fascinating collection."

"This award exhibition our most popular annual exhibition because people get to see some of New Zealand’s outstanding up and coming artists exhibiting works that are also for sale.”  Many of our Award Winners have gone on to win other major awards and become high profile New Zealand artists.One other exhibitions opened at the Waiheke Community Art Gallery during Labour Weekend –Fran Dibble presented her exhibition A Visit to the Library.

Artists chosen as finalists for this year’s Walker & Hall Waiheke Award were:

Rick Allendar

Justin Beaver

Ingrid Berzins

Martin Corke

Deborah Crowe

Zephir Delamore

Antony Densham

Anah Dunsheath

Johl Dwyer

Margaret Emsley

Margaret Feeney

Catherine Fookes

Liam Gerrard

Mark Graver

Sarah Guppy

Frances Hansen

Russell Jackson

Stuart Jobling

Ellen Johansen and Michael Walker

Jillian Karl

Emma McLellan

Jonathan Organ

Joon-Hee Park

Jessica Pearless

Toby Raine

Claudia Recorean

Jamie Reid

Sue Reidy

Ruth Thomas – Edmond

Katie Trinkle-Legge

Jacquie Ure

Sponsored By