Walker & Hall Waiheke Art Award 2014

24 October - 17 November 2014
Free Entry

The Waiheke Art Award 2014 is proudly sponsored by Walker & Hall in association with Kennedy Point Vineyard and the Waiheke Community Art Gallery. This is a National Award for two dimensional works in any medium and has a Prize of $5000 as the Premier award. This years selector and judge is Ian Jervis, Senior Lecturer, Visual Arts Auckland University of Technology.

Lush by Christchurch artist Janna Van Hasselt has won this year’s $5000 Walker & Hall Waiheke Art Award.

Judge Ian Jervis, Senior Lecturer Visual Arts, AUT University, announced the winner of the national Walker & Hall Waiheke Art Award at the Waiheke Community Art Gallery on Saturday, 25 October at an evening function in association with Kennedy Point Vineyard and Marino Ridge Luxury Accommodation.

The work is a Lithograph on inkjet print.

Waiheke’s Hugo Lindsay won the $1000 Zinni Douglas Merit Award for his work titled Italic – a work of graphite and nickel based pigment on calico. Gavin Jones was awarded the $500 Michael Evans Award sponsored by The Skin Institute for his Untitled work, in acrylic and vinyl tempera on stretched canvas.

Now in its nineth year, the Walker & Hall, an annual national art award established to promote excellence in art attracted 105 entries this year.

For further information or for images of the finalists please contact: Waiheke Community Art Gallery director Linda Chalmers on 09 372 9907 or email her at director@waihekeartgallery.org.nz

Finalists chosen for this year’s Walker & Hall Waiheke Award were:

Janna Van Hasselt
Sam Montgomery
Anthony Densham
Liam Davidson
Katie Trinkle Legge
Jamie Chapman
Adrian Jackman
Alice King
Ellen Johansen & Michael Walker
Sandy Son
Ilya Volykhine
Judi Bagust
Grant Whibley
Frances Hansen
Hugo Lindsay
Anne-Sophy Adelys
Anah Dunsheath
Bill Riley
Sena Park
Emma McLellan
Sue Reidy
Gary Roberts
Gavin Jones
Jonathan Organ
Stefan Roberts
Natalie Tozer
Sheree Stone
John Pusateri
Gail de Jong

The Award Ceremony took place on Saturday 25 October at 5pm at the gallery. Participating artists  complimentary, other attendees $25 per head.  

Sponsored By