Small Sculpture Prize 2017

14 April - 15 May 2017
Free Entry

The 2017 Small Sculpture Prize is proudly presented by Bayleys Waiheke in association with the Waiheke Community Art Gallery and Te Motu Vineyard. This is a National Award for an original free-standing or wall sculpture up to 800mm in any dimension. The selector and judge this year is Dr.  Zara Stanhope, Principal Curator at Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki and Adjunct Professor AUT University, Auckland.

The Award is $3000.

The Winner of this years Small Sculpture Prize is Karin Strachan for her work 'Sleeping Alone'. Wanda Gillespie was highly commended for her piece 'Boy'  Warm congratulations Karin and all the finalists.  Dr. Zara Stanhope's Judges notes are available here.

The finalists this year were: Emerita Baik, Patrick Barry,  Karl Baxter,  Trish Campbell,  Jonathan Campbell,  Christine Cathie, Maria Colls, Bronwynne Cornish, Jonathan Cuming, Anah Dunsheath, John Ecuyer, Kate Elder, Wanda Gillespie, Natalie Guy, Fiona Lenore, Graeme Mackay, David McGill, Nicola Mclaren, Chris Mules, Sena Park, Michael Potter, Frances Rood, Deborah Rundle, Shelley Simpson, Karin Strachan, Dave Thomas, Janna Van Hasselt, Motoko Watanabe and Melissa Young.


Karin Strachan 2

Karin Strachan - Sleeping Alone

From left Sponsors Mary Curnow Bayleys Sam Dunleavy Te Motu and Selector Dr Zara Stanhope with the Prize Winning work Sleeping Along by Karin Strachan.

From L-R Sponsors Mary Curnow - Bayleys Waiheke, Sam Dunleavy - Te Motu Vineyard and this year's selector and Judge Dr. Zara Stanhope in front of Karin Strachan's work 'Sleeping Alone'


View more images of the Award Ceremony and exhibition by Waiheke photographer Peter Rees here.

Exhibition dates 14 April -15 May 2017

Online Submissions have now closed.


Friday 18 November 2016
Entries open

Monday 19 December 2016
Submissions have now closed

Monday 16 January 2017
Artists advised of selection

Friday 17 March 2017
Two print quality images to be sent to the gallery for press and media (1MB jpegs)

Friday 07 April 2017
Works to have arrived at the gallery. Gallery hours 10am - 4pm. Prepaid courier tickets for return of works to be included, along with technical details, mounting requirements and guidelines for handling the sculpture.

Friday 14 April - Monday 15 May 2017
Exhibition dates

Friday 14 April 2017
Gala Exhibition opening and announcement of Award

Wednesday 17 May 2017
Unsold works available for collection or return.

If you have any submission queries please contact Linda Chalmers Director on (09) 372 9907 or email

Previous winners:

2016 Liz Sharek, Fire and Brimstone

2015 Rhyder Jones, Fragments of Z

2014 Alexander Bartleet, Line Cluster

2013 Stuart Bridson, Small Kitset No 1

Sponsored By