Small Sculpture Prize 2016

26 February - 21 March 2016

The 2016 Small Sculpture Prize is proudly presented by Davis Funerals in association with the Waiheke Community Art Gallery, Te Motu Vineyard and Matiatia Bay. This is a National Award for an original free-standing or wall sculpture up to 800mm in any dimension. The Award is $3000.

The selector and judge for the 2016 Small Sculpture Prize is Tanya Eccleston, Artist, writer and educator. 

The winner this year is Liz Sharek with her work Fire and Brimstone and The Big Blow

Highly Commended merit awards were given to Catherine Fookes for her work Yellow Nut Bowl and Ada Leung for Sugar Substance.

Congratulations to the award winners and finalists! 

The Finalists selected for this years exhibition are Samantha Lisette, Dale Copeland, Chris Mules, Kiya Nancarrow, Catherine Fookes, Maria Colls, Deborah Crowe, Helen Schamroth, Ada Leung, A.D Schierning, Michelle Beattie, Virginia Leonard, Glen Colechin, Frances Rood, Jonathan Campbell, Lee Brogan, Liz Fea, Frank Watson, Mia Hamilton, Melissa Young, Jane Downes, Donna Feary, Frances Studd,  Liz Sharek, Natalie Guy, Sally Smith, Gill Gatfield. 

Exhibition dates 26 February - 21 March 2016.

Online submissions have now closed. 


Key Dates for submissions:

Friday 25 September 2015

Entries open

Friday 16 October 2015

Closing date for submissions

Monday 9 November 2015

Artists advised of selection

Friday 8 January 2016

Two print quality images to be sent to the gallery for press and media (1MB jpegs)

Friday 19 February 2016

Works to have arrived at the gallery. Gallery hours 10am - 4pm. Prepaid courier tickets for return of works to be included, along with technical details, mounting requirements and guidelines for handling the sculpture.

Friday 26 February - Monday 21 March 2016

Exhibition dates

Saturday 27 February 2016

Gala Exhibition opening and announcement of Award

Wednesday 23 March 2016

Unsold works available for collection or return.

If you have any submission queries please contact Linda Chalmers Director on (09) 372 9907 or email

Previous winners:

2015 Rhyder Jones, Fragments of Z

2014 Alexander Bartleet, Line Cluster

2013 Stuart Bridson, Small Kitset No 1

Sponsored By